Kiss Renoir’s, Make Love to Picasso’s and Marry Monet’s — Part 1

Aissa Martell
11 min readSep 13, 2018

The First Kiss

For the past two years, I have traveled to Europe in the month of September for the love of it. I stayed in Paris three weeks the first trip and two weeks the second, with a short jaunt to Spain. While there I soaked up as much art as I could. I love the museums of Paris and spent much time roaming the galleries of Musee d’Orsay, I’Orangerie, the Louvre, and many more. Due to the subject matter herein most of the paintings were photographed at the Musee d’Orsay, with some exceptions. I have become fascinated with the women subjects of many of the artists in the galleries of Paris. I wanted to learn more about the women of Renoir and their innocence, the artistry of Picasso’s, and the delicate flowers of Monet. Those are just to name a few, so let’s begin with a kiss.

La Balancoire (The Swing)
Pierre Auguste Renoir

The lady of La Balancoire looks away rather bashfully, in Renoir’s work which was displayed at the third Impressionist exhibition in 1877, and was completed in 1876. The model is Jeanne, who was a young actress living in Montmartre. She wears what appears to be…

--

--